Driver No.Entrant
Alan Jones27Albilad Williams Racing Team
Scale ManufacturerCollection
1:43 RBA Collectibles / IXO RBA / Fabbri Auto da Corsa i Miti Della Formula 1
Cat. No.QualityRarity
No. 38

Australian driver Alan Jones won his only World Driver’s  Championship in 1980 behind the wheel of Williams FW07B sponsored by Albilad, Saudia and Leyland. On the way to the title he won five Grand Prix in Argentina, France, Britain, Canada and Watkins Glen in the USA while his teammate and rival Carlos Reutemann scored the victory at wet race in Monaco. Six wins were enough for Williams team to secure their first Constructor’s Championship title. The car, FW07B, was the further evolution of FW07 built in 1979 and designed by Patrick Head, Frank Dernie and Neil Oatley based on ground effect principle incarnated in the pioneering Lotus 79. FW07B was simple, light, reliable and so most successful of the next generation ground effect F1 vehicles. This model from RBA Collection represents Jones’ FW07B from the early season. The distinctive feature is “Dallah Avco” advertising sticker on the cockpit side. In the first third of the season (until Belgian Grand Prix) this sticker was as reproduced on this scale model. From Monaco Grand Prix until the end of the season the “Dallah Avco” sticker had other form and color – see Jones’ late of the season car by Yaxon.