Anthony Joseph, or A.J.,  Foyt is a racer with one of the most impressive and longest career in motorsport. His active driving career lasted more than 40 years – since 1953 till 1996, and he still continued to be an important figure in motorsport running his teams in IndyCar series. Foyt is the only driver to win the Indianapolis 500 (which he won four times), the Daytona 500, the 24 Hours of Daytona, and the 24 Hours of Le Mans. His career in IndyCars (USAC and CART), the highest level of American open-wheels racing, lasted over 5 decades – from 1950s to 1990s. Foyt holds the records on most National Championships titles (7) and most Championship races won (67). In 1961 he was just in the beginning of this long way in motorsport, but already won his first USAC National Championship, as well as the titles in sprint cars and midgets.

Foyt debuted in the Big Car National Championship in 1957, and won his first title out of record 7, in 1960. In 1961 Foyt raced Meskowski – Offy dirt car and Travis – Offy roadster. He won his first Indy-500 race in Trevis, and then scored 3 more victories on dirt tracks (at Langhorne, Du Quoin, and Indiana State Fairgrounds) to defend his USAC National Championship title. By wining 4 races and the Championship Foyt collected  $153,168. For instance, the total prize money of Parnelli Jones for 1961 Sprint Car National Champion was $16,432, while Jimmy Davies, 1961 USAC Midget national Champion, purse was $9,882.

1961USAC National Championship
Driver No.Entrant
A.J. Foyt1George Bignotti
ChassisEngineCar Name
Kurtis KraftOffenhauserBowes Seal Fast Special
Scale ManufacturerCollection
1:43GMPLimited Edition 1:43 A.J. Foyt / Bowes Seal Fast 3 Car Set
Cat. No.QualityRarity
2111 / 7681
Limited Edition of 3504 pcs.