Grand Prix History in Scale Models

1928, Albert Divo, Brian Phipps, Bugatti, Conversions, Formula143 Special

1928 Bugatti T35B Divo

Automobiles Ettore Bugatti had won the Targa for the last three years in 1925-27, and was the obvious favorite of 1928.  Twenty out of  41 entries received by the 1928 Targa Florio promoter were Bugattis.  Factory team sent to Sicilia five cars for their five official drivers Caberto Conelli, Ferdinnado Minoia, Louis Chiron, Gastone Brilli Peri and Albert  Divo to compete in three different categories. The latter was hired shortly before the race and acted as the replacement for Pietro Bordino who was killed during practice for the Alessandria Circuit race. Divo drove 2.3 litre supercharged T35B.  He had raced at Madonie only once before,  but he continued to improve his pace from lap to lap and went into the lead on the last lap, finishing first ahead of Giuseppe Campari in Alfa Romeo and Caberto Conelli in 1.5 litre Bugatti T37A. The model is the conversion based on IXO Bugatti model from Altaya “100 ans de sport automobile” collection.

1928Grand PrixTarga Florio
Driver No.Entrant
Albert Divo56Automobiles Ettore Bugatti
Scale ManufacturerCollection
1:43Brian Phipps / IXO Conversion
Cat. No.QualityRarity

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: