The 2018 Verizon IndyCar Series was the 23rd season of the Verizon IndyCar Series and the 107th official championship season of American open wheel racing. All teams used a spec Dallara DW12 (IR18) chassis with Honda or Chevrolet power units with respective aero kits,  and Firestone tires. The DW12 in IR18 specification feature an all-new universal bodywork, inspired by CART’s 1990s and 2000s cars, but still keep the Dallara DW12 (named in 2012 after Dan Wheldon) chassis base. This new chassis configuration is dubbed the IR18 (Indycar Racing, 2018), and will be used until at least 2022. For the first time since the 1996 Indy Racing League and 2007 Champ Car seasons respectively, cars will have a roll hoop without an airbox.

For 2018, Chip Ganassi would downsize to two cars, with Kimball and Chilton taking their sponsorship over to Carlin due to team’s cost-efficiency. Scott Dixon remains in the No. 9 with sponsorship from PNC Bank. In addition, Ganassi signed 2017 Indycar Rookie of the Year Ed Jones to drive the No. 10 car in 2018, with sponsorship from NTT Data, replacing Tony Kanaan. Jones an Emirati-born British racing driver, is competing as UAE representative. In 2018 he managed to achieve only two podiums (at Long Beach and Detroit, race 2), finished 13th in the championship and was released at season’s end in favor of Formula E driver Felix Rosenqvist.

2018Verizon IndyCar Series
Driver No.Entrant
Ed Jones10Chip Ganassi Racing
ChassisEngineCar Name
Dallara DW12 (IR18)HondaNTT Data
Scale ManufacturerCollection
Cat. No.QualityRarity