The 2018 Verizon IndyCar Series was the 23rd season of the Verizon IndyCar Series and the 107th official championship season of American open wheel racing. All teams used a spec Dallara DW12 (IR18) chassis with Honda or Chevrolet power units with respective aero kits,  and Firestone tires. The DW12 in IR18 specification feature an all-new universal bodywork, inspired by CART’s 1990s and 2000s cars, but still keep the Dallara DW12 (named in 2012 after Dan Wheldon) chassis base. This new chassis configuration is dubbed the IR18 (Indycar Racing, 2018), and will be used until at least 2022. For the first time since the 1996 Indy Racing League and 2007 Champ Car seasons respectively, cars will have a roll hoop without an airbox.

Conor Daly, who raced the 2017 season the number 4 car for A. J. Foyt Enterprises,  lost his ride with Foyt for 2018, but was signed by Coyne for the 2018 Indianapolis 500. His No. 17 car, fielded in conjunction with Thom Burns Racing, was sponsored by the United States Air Force. Daly qualified as 33thg and last, and finished the “500” in 21st position. Later the season Daly returned to series driving Chevy-powered car for Harding Racing at Toronto, Mid Ohio and Pocono finishing best as 13th at Honda Indy Toronto race. He scored 58 points and was 29th in the championship.

2018Verizon IndyCar SeriesIndianapolis 500
Driver No.Entrant
Conor Daly17Dale Coyne Racing
ChassisEngineCar Name
Dallara DW12 (IR18)HondaUnited States Air Force
Scale ManufacturerCollection
Cat. No.QualityRarity