Grand Prix History in Scale Models

1:64, 2015, Dallara, Greenlight, IndyCar, James Hinchcliffe

2015 Dallara DW12 (IR12) Mk. II – Honda Hinchcliffe

For the 2015 IndyCar Series season Dallara prepared their first facelift aero kits for the DW12 designed by them, in partnership with Wirth Research for Honda, and Pratt & Miller for Chevrolet. The original fourth generation Dallara IndyCar, the IR12, was introduced in 2012, when Dallara began providing the common monocoque and suspension parts for the new IndyCar formulae – known as the IndyCar Safety Cell – with the intent that the bodywork and aero parts can and will be provided by other manufacturers. 2011 Indianapolis 500 winner Dan Wheldon carried out the first official test of the Dallara IR12 chassis at Mid-Ohio in August 2011. Following Wheldon’s death at the season-ending race in Las Vegas, Dallara renamed the 2012 chassis the DW12 in his honor. The original IR12 (DW12) was later known as MkI, and was used for three seasons – in 2012-2014. The facelift version of DW12 was designated as MkII, and raced in the series another three seasons – in 2015-2017. In the first season of use, especially in its first half, the Chevrolet aerokits proved dominant, with Chevrolet powered teams winning 8 out of first 10 races of the season. Midway through the season, both manufacturers introduced an update to the aerokit with the Honda kit losing its front wing endplates on safety grounds, while Chevrolet introduced an additional winglet. The balance shifted in favor of Honda-powered cars (4 wins in last 6 races of the year).

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports team used Honda-powered cars in the 2015 season. Number 7 was driven by British James Jakes and #5 by Canadian James Hinchcliffe. Hinchcliffe won his first race with the team in the second race of the year in New Orleans, but a month later he sustained serious injuries in a crash caused by a suspension failure during practice for the 2015 Indianapolis 500.  Hinchcliffe remained hospitalized during the race and Ryan Briscoe took Hinchcliffe’s position for the race. Briscoe and Conor Daly replaced Hinchcliffe in the car for the remainder of the 2015 season.

2015IndyCar Series
Driver No.Entrant
James Hinchcliffe5Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
ChassisEngineCar Name
Dallara DW12 (IR12) Mk. IIHondaArrow
Scale ManufacturerCollection
Cat. No.QualityRarity

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: