Grand Prix History in Scale Models

2008, A1GP, Amalgam Collection, Ian Dyk, John Martin, Lola

2007-08 Lola B05 A1GP Australia

A1 Grand Prix (A1GP) was a “single-make” open-wheel auto racing series that ran from 2005 until 2009. It was unique in its field in that competitors solely represented their nation as opposed to themselves or a team, the usual format in most formula racing series. As such, it was often promoted as the “World Cup of Motorsport”. The A1GP formula provided a single “spec” car for each team. Each car was mechanically identical, built with many technical restrictions designed to limit performance, reduce running costs, and prevent any one or number of teams gaining an advantage through better equipment. The Lola B05/52 was the spec car used by the series from the 2005–06 season to the 2007–08 season. It was powered by V8 4300 cc Zytek engines, and ran on Cooper tyres. Unlike almost all other forms of auto racing, drivers did not score points individually; instead the points they earn were ascribed to their national team. This means that teams could change drivers between rounds, which was often necessary because some drivers had commitments in other formulae, and still accumulate points to their score.

The 2007–08 season was the fourth season of the series and final season that used the Lola-Zytek A1GP car. The season included ten round held from September 2007 to May 2008. Each round consisted of two races – short sprint race and longer main feature race. The feature race had a distance of 69 minutes plus one lap, while the sprint race was limited to  29 minutes plus one lap. 22 teams competed in the 2007–08 championship.

Team Australia was based on Alan Docking Racing, British minor formulas team, and was  managed by Alan Jones. The drivers were Ian Dyk, 22 years old Australian F3 and touring car driver; and John Martin, who race for Alan Docking in the British Formula Ford. Daniel Ricciardo was the reserve driver. Dyk competed in first four rounds, finishing best 9th in Malaysian feature race. Martin continued in rounds 5-10 and scored four point finishes with best 6th and 5th in both the sprint and feature races of his home round at the Eastern Creek Raceway in Sydney, Australia. Team Australia finished the 2007–08 season in 17th position.

The scale models of A1GP cars of the 2007-08 season was issued by Amalgam Collection, representing a very brief excursion of the company specializing in the high-end segment of large scale models, into 1:43 world.

2007-08A1 Grand Prix
Driver No.Entrant
Ian Dyk / John MartinA1 Team Australia
Scale ManufacturerCollection
1:43Amalgam Collection
Cat. No.QualityRarity

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: