Grand Prix History in Scale Models

1935, George Bailey, Indy 500, IndyCar, Jerome Mardon, Miller

1935 Miller FD – Ford Bailey

Harry Miller, one of America’s most important racing designers, has been involved in the cars and engines design for speedway motor racing since 1920s.  Jimmy Murphy was who first won with it. Miller-powered Jimmy Murphy’s Duesenberg raced to victory in the 1922 Indianapolis 500. Miller then progressed to making Miller single-seater race cars that used supercharged versions of his 2.0 and 1.5 liter (122 and 91 in³) engines. The engines took four more wins in the 500 up to 1929, twice (1926 and 1928) in Miller chassis, and won the race another seven times between 1929 and 1938 (twice again, in 1930 and 1932, in Miller chassis). After Miller declared bankruptcy in 1933, his shop foreman and chief machinist Fred Offenhauser purchased the business and continued development of the engine as the Offenhauser which raced successfully until the 1980s. In 1935 Miller with Indianapolis 500 enthusiast Preston Tucker formed Miller and Tucker, Inc. New company built ten modified Ford V-8 racers for 1935 Indy 500. The cars were powered by Ford V-8, L-head valves, 221 cubic inches engine developing 150 horsepower. Ten cars were entered by Miller for Indianapolis 500. Six of them, driven by Billy Winn (#10), George Barringer (#23), Dave Evans (#32), Johnny Rae (#47), Wesley Crawford (#48), and Lora Corum (#49) failed to qualify. Other four started the race driven by George Bailey (#35), Johnny Seymour (#42), Ted Horn (#43), and Bob Sall (#46). But a hurried production schedule and insufficient time available for their development and testing led to mechanical problems and none finished the race. The weakest point was steering boxes, installed too close to the exhaust, overheated and locked up –all four retired with same problem. All cars were painted in double livery with stylized V8 sign. Bailey’s car was silver-red, Seymour’s – silver-blue, Horn’s- black-white, and Sall’s – gold-white. The cars then were sold to  privateers,  and examples ran at Indianapolis through 1948. The car represented in this scale model is Miller piloted by George Bailey in 1935 Indianapolis 500. Bailey raced in AAA championship since 1931 and never won the race. He was killed in a crash during practice for the 1940 Indianapolis 500, when his gasoline tank exploded after he lost control of his car and skidded sideways into a concrete wall.

1935AAA National ChampionshipIndianapolis 500
Driver No.Entrant
George Bailey35Harry A. Miller
ChassisEngineCar Name
Miller FDFord V8Miller Ford
Scale ManufacturerCollection
1:43Jerome Mardon
Cat. No.QualityRarity

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: