Grand Prix History in Scale Models

1992, Gerhard Berger, Mclaren, Minichamps

1992 McLaren MP4/7A Berger

The MP4/7 from 1992 was the last McLaren powered by Honda engine after very successful partnership lasted 5 seasons and resulted in 44 wins and 4 Driver’s Championship and Constructors Championship titles in a row. Honda will return to McLaren many years later, in 2015, but the alliance will not be able to compare with past achievements. The MP4/7 was mainly based on the 1991 winning design featuring carbon fibre monocoque chassis and Honda RA122E V12 engine. The very new feature was the introduction of semi-automatic transmission, developed with the help of the team’s technology partner Techniques d’Avant Garde (TAG). However the Williams-Renault combination proved to be more reliable and faster in 1992 season, leaving McLaren to fight with Ferrari and Benetton for the “best of the rest” title. Ayrton Senna won 3 races (at Monaco, Hungary and Italy) that season and was 4th in the Championship, while Gerhard Berger, who moved to Ferrari after the end of the season, won Canadian and Australian Grand Prix and was placed 5th in the final standing just 1 point behind Senna.

Driver No.Entrant
Gerhard Berger2Honda Marlboro McLaren
Scale ManufacturerCollection
1:43MinichampsMcLaren Collection Edition 43 no. 10
Cat. No.QualityRarity

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: