Grand Prix History in Scale Models

1990, Ayrton Senna, Formula 1 Auto Collection, IXO, Mclaren, World Champions

1990 McLaren MP4/5B Senna

The Championship winning car of the 1990, McLaren-Honda MP4/5B, was the further evolution of MP4/5 introduced in 1989 at the first year of naturally aspirated engines after 1,500 cc turbo-era. The car was designed by Gordon Murray and Neil Oatley. For Murray, famous South African designer who had worked in F1 since 1969, the MP4/5B was his last formula 1 project. As compared to MP4/5 from 1989, the wings of MP4/5B were redesigned and the rear bodywork reprofiled around larger radiators. The engine was tweaked in order to get better reliability in the new season. The 1988 champion Alain Prost went on to move to Ferrari for the 1990 season, as announced during the midseason of the previous year. The Frenchman was unhappy because he believed that McLaren and Honda were favoring Senna. Gerhard Berger moved in an opposite direction joining Ayrton Senna in McLaren lineup. Senna had season-long fight for the championship with Alain Prost. Brazilian won 6 grand Prix while Frenchman took 5 victories. The season was decided at the penultimate round at Japanese Grand Prix in Suzuka when Senna and Prost collided in the first corner of the first lap, giving Senna the championship due to Prost being unable to continue. This model is from Formula  1 Auto Collection series. See also issues from RBA Collection and Lendas Brasileiros do Automobilismo.

Driver No.Entrant
Ayrton Senna27HondaMarlboro McLaren
Scale ManufacturerCollection
1:43IXOFormula 1 Auto Collection
Cat. No.QualityRarity
No. 63
Tobacco decala are not supplied with the model

3 thoughts on “1990 McLaren MP4/5B Senna

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: