The Championship winning car of the 1990, McLaren-Honda MP4/5B, was the further evolution of MP4/5 introduced in 1989 at the first year of naturally aspirated engines after 1,500 cc turbo-era. The car was designed by Gordon Murray and Neil Oatley. For Murray, famous South African designer who had worked in F1 since 1969, the MP4/5B was his last formula 1 project. As compared to MP4/5 from 1989, the wings of MP4/5B were redesigned and the rear bodywork reprofiled around larger radiators. The engine was tweaked in order to get better reliability in the new season. The 1988 champion Alain Prost went on to move to Ferrari for the 1990 season, as announced during the midseason of the previous year. The Frenchman was unhappy because he believed that McLaren and Honda were favouring Senna. Gerhard Berger moved in an opposite direction joining Ayrton Senna in McLaren lineup. Senna had season-long fight for the championship with Alain Prost. Brazilian won 6 grand Prix while Frenchman took 5 victories. The season was decided at the penultimate round at Japanese Grand Prix in Suzuka when Senna and Prost collided in the first corner of the first lap, giving Senna the championship due to Prost being unable to continue. This model is from RBA Collection series. See also issues from from Formula 1 Auto Collection and Lendas Brasileiros do Automobilismo..

Driver No.Entrant
Ayrton Senna27Honda Marlboro Mclaren
Scale ManufacturerCollection
1:43RBA Collectibles / IXORBA / Fabbri 
Auto da Corsa i Miti Della Formula 1
Cat. No.QualityRarity
No. 06