Grand Prix History in Scale Models

1964, Lotus, Mike Hailwood, Spark

1964 Lotus 25 Hailwood

Lotus 25 designed by Colin Chapman, a revolutionary Formula One car with first fully stressed monocoque chassis, made its racing debut in 1962 and had raced until 1967. Already in the debut year, the car showed very promising performance. Jim Clark won 3 Grand Prix and took 2nd position in the World Drivers’ Championship. But in 1963 the combination Clark – Lotus 25 was absolutely invincible. Clark won his first championship with seven wins to two by Graham Hill in BRM and one by John Surtees in Ferrari. This record of wins per season held over 25 years, until 1988, when Ayrton Senna won 8 races in the McLaren MP4/4. In the 1964 season Lotus 25 was used also by Reg Parnell Racing, a British private team ran by former Grand Prix driver. Parnell’s team fitted the Lotus 25 chassis with the BRM P56 1.5 V8 engine. The regular drivers of Parnell Racing in 1964 were British Mike Hailwood and New Zelander Chris Amons. Hailwood, who was at that time 2-times 500 cc World Motorcycle champion, competed in 1964 on two fronts – in the World Motorcycle Racing Championship and in Formula 1. He won his third 500 cc title in 1964 (and fourth next season), winning all 7 Moto Grand Prix he entered. However his success in F1 was much worse. Hailwood started in 9 World Championship Grand Prix, finishing best as 6th at Monaco. He also drove Lotus – BRM to 5th place at non-championship News of the World Trophy at Goodwood, and to 6th place in BRDC International Trophy held at the Silverstone circuit.

1964F1WCFrench GP
Driver No.Entrant
Mike Hailwood36Reg Parnell Racing
Scale ManufacturerCollection
Cat. No.QualityRarity

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: