The 2018 Verizon IndyCar Series was the 23rd season of the Verizon IndyCar Series and the 107th official championship season of American open wheel racing. All teams used a spec Dallara DW12 (IR18) chassis with Honda or Chevrolet power units with respective aero kits,  and Firestone tires. The DW12 in IR18 specification feature an all-new universal bodywork, inspired by CART’s 1990s and 2000s cars, but still keep the Dallara DW12 (named in 2012 after Dan Wheldon) chassis base. This new chassis configuration is dubbed the IR18 (Indycar Racing, 2018), and will be used until at least 2022. For the first time since the 1996 Indy Racing League and 2007 Champ Car seasons respectively, cars will have a roll hoop without an airbox.

In 2018, Schmidt Peterson Motorsports extended James Hinchcliffe’s contract for the fourth consecutive year,  as well as signed fellow Canadian Robert Wickens to drive the second car. The major sponsors of SPM were Arrow Electronics and Lucas Oil companies.  Hinchcliffe’s Dallara was painted gold-black with Arrow as main sponsor, while car of Wickens was red-black with Lucas main logo. Hinchcliffe  had a good season winning at Iowa Speedway and finishing 10th in the championship with 391 points.

2018Verizon IndyCar Series
Driver No.Entrant
James Hinchcliffe5Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
ChassisEngineCar Name
Dallara DW12 (IR18)HondaArrow / Lucas Oil
Scale ManufacturerCollection
Cat. No.QualityRarity