A1 Grand Prix (A1GP) was a “single-make” open-wheel auto racing series that ran from 2005 until 2009. It was unique in its field in that competitors solely represented their nation as opposed to themselves or a team, the usual format in most formula racing series. As such, it was often promoted as the “World Cup of Motorsport”. The A1GP formula provided a single “spec” car for each team. Each car was mechanically identical, built with many technical restrictions designed to limit performance, reduce running costs, and prevent any one or number of teams gaining an advantage through better equipment. The Lola B05/52 was the spec car used by the series from the 2005–06 season to the 2007–08 season. It was powered by V8 4300 cc Zytek engines, and ran on Cooper tyres. Unlike almost all other forms of auto racing, drivers did not score points individually; instead the points they earn were ascribed to their national team. This means that teams could change drivers between rounds, which was often necessary because some drivers had commitments in other formulae, and still accumulate points to their score.

The 2007–08 season was the fourth season of the series and final season that used the Lola-Zytek A1GP car. The season included ten round held from September 2007 till May 2008. Each round consisted of two races – short sprint race and longer main feature race. The feature race had a distance of 69 minutes plus one lap, while the sprint race was limited to  29 minutes plus one lap. 22 teams competed in the 2007–08 championship.

A1 Team South Africa’s was owned by Tokyo Sexwale, South African businessman, politician, anti-apartheid activist, and former political prisoner. The team’s cars were run by DAMS, the outfit which ran the French and Swiss teams. Adrian Zaugg, a South African race car driver of Dutch descent, drove in all rounds of the season. His consistent scoring, two victories (sprint race in Zandvoort and feature race in Sydney), and two podiums brought Team South Africa 5th place in the championship.

The scale models of A1GP cars of the 2007-08 season was issued by Amalgam Collection, representing a very brief excursion of the company specializing in the high-end segment of large scale models, into 1:43 world.

2007-08A1 Grand Prix
Driver No.Entrant
Adrian ZauggA1 South Africa
Scale ManufacturerCollection
1:43Amalgam Collection
Cat. No.QualityRarity