Grand Prix History in Scale Models

2007, Lewis Hamilton, Mclaren, Minichamps

2007 McLaren MP4-22 Hamilton

The McLaren MP4-22 was raced by Vodafone McLaren Mercedes drivers Fernando Alonso and Lewis Hamilton during the 2007 Formula One season. The chassis was designed by Paddy Lowe, Neil Oatley, Pat Fry, Mike Coughlan and Simon Lacey with Mario Illien designing the bespoke Mercedes-Benz engine.  The car proved to be very competitive and the most reliable car of the season, with no mechanical retirements in any race. However the team’s season was marred by a fierce rivalry between its drivers Alonso, the reigning World Champion, and Hamilton, fresh GP2 Champion and F1 rookie, as well as a fall out  between Alonso and the team’s management. Both drivers were regular winners (4 Grand Prix win each) and podium finishers, but finally lost the championship to Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen scoring both 109 points – one point less than Kimi. For Hamilton it was a brilliant debut season in F1. Lewis took 3rd place at his very first race at the Australian Grand Prix, and achieved his first victory in his sixth race in Canada. 

2007F1WCCanadian GP
Driver No.Entrant
Lewis Hamilton2Vodafone McLaren Mercedes
Scale ManufacturerCollection
1:43Minichamps McLaren Collection Edition 43 no. 87
Cat. No.QualityRarity
Limited Edition of 9999 pcs

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: