Grand Prix History in Scale Models

2010, Abrex, Buggyra, David Vrsecky, Truck Racing

2010 Buggyra MK R08 Vrsecky

Buggyra Truck Racing Team was founded by Czech Martin Koloc in 2000, after his retirement as truck racing driver. But the Buggyra brand has much longer history. It was created (as Baghira) by Famous Czech designer and constructor of vehicles Václav Král in 1969. The name Baghira was inspired by the black panther in Rudyard Kipling’s Jungle Book. In 1973 Kral constructed his first racing vehicle under new brand – it was Tatra Baghira dune buggy. Then followed Škoda Baghira sports spyder and some other vehicles. If Kral developed as a designer of racing cars, then Koloc went on the other side – as a racing driver. He has entered the stage on European Truck Racing in 1993 with Czech LIAZ truck. Then Martin raced with Sisu and Praga, before joining his efforts as manager with Václav Král’s designer abilities. German designer Mario Kress, who worked with MAN, DAF and Mercedes Benz race trucks, was incorporated in Buggyra design team. For the 2001 season Kral and Kress designed a very unusual cabover racing truck with the cabin placed between the axels in order to provide better weight distribution. Buggyra MK 001 was powered by Caterpillar 1300 hp engine and was driven by Gerd Körber to 8th place in the Super trucks A category. New modification, Buggyra  MK 002,  brought two championship titles to Körber in 2002 and 2003.

Buggyra used cabover concept until 2004, and in 2005 the tam moved to the Race Trucks category with new bonnet truck built using Freightliner chassis. In 2006 new technical regulations was introduced by FIA and the ETR Cup was reorganized as the European Truck Racing Championship. The Czech team continued to race with Freightliner-based Buggyras and won three titles in 2007-2009, first with Swiss Markus Bösiger in 2007 and then with Czech David Vrsecky in 2008 and 2009.

In the 2010 ETRC season Buggyra team MK R-8 trucks were driven by Vrsecky (#1) and German driver Uwe Nittel (#36). In the Russian round of the series at Smolensk Mikhail Konovalov (#44) replaced Nittel.  Defending champion Vrsecky won two races (at Nurburgring and Jarama)  and finished the season fifth. Nittel  achieved 2 podiums and was 9th in the final ETRC standings.

The series of Buggyra racing trucks of 2008 – 2013 was produced by Abrex company from Czech Republic.

Driver No.Entrant
David Vrsecky1Buggyra Int. Racing System
Scale ManufacturerCollection
Cat. No.QualityRarity

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: